Translations are powered by Google Translate.

  • Civic Trust Awards 2012
We are delighted to receive a commendation at the Civic Trust Awards, held at The Hub in Edinburgh and attended by Turner Contemporary Director Victoria Pomery.

The awards celebrate outstanding architecture and built environment projects. 

From 306 national and international entries, 52 projects have been recognised by the prestigious Civic Trust Awards at a ceremony held at The Hub in Edinburgh supported by the City of Edinburgh Council. Awards were presented to the best new buildings, public spaces, restorations and public art by Civic Trust Awards Patron, architect and TV presenter George Clarke and Civic Trust Awards Managing Director Malcolm Hankey.

Civic Trust Awards Managing Director, Malcolm Hankey said: 'The Civic Trust Awards celebrate not only design excellence, but also the relationship between structures, places, the environment and communities. Winning projects have demonstrated architectural excellence whilst offering cultural, social or economic benefit to the local community. We are delighted to bring the 2012 Civic Trust Awards Ceremony to Edinburgh and would like to take this opportunity to thank the City of Edinburgh Council for their support. The event attracted hundreds of leading architects and built environment professionals to the historic city for a wonderful evening of celebration.'

From 27 Award winning schemes, Six Special Awards were given to Civic Trust Award winning projects that have demonstrated outstanding credentials in specific areas. The Special Awards are:

• Special Award for Scotland - National Museum of Scotland in Edinburgh by Gareth Hoskins Architects - supported by The City of Edinburgh Council and Glasgow City Council. 
Special Award for Community Impact and Engagement - The Longest Bench in Littlehampton by Studio Weave - this Special Award is presented to a scheme that has demonstrated how successful community engagement can help deliver the highest standards of design whilst meeting the needs of local people. 
Special Award for Sustainability - Brockholes Visitor Centre in Preston, Lancashire by Adam Khan Architects - this Special Award is presented a project that demonstrates excellent sustainability credentials in terms of overall design parameters, material selection, construction methods and long term energy consumption. 
Michael Middleton Special Award - The Holburne Museum of Art in Bath by Eric Parry Architects - this Special Award, a memorial to the former Civic Trust Director Michael Middleton OBE, is presented to a restoration project or new build within a conservation area. 
The Hepworth Wakefield in Yorkshire by David Chipperfield Architects - this Special Award was selected by National Panel members as their favourite scheme from this year’s Award winning projects.
•  The Selwyn Goldsmith Award for Universal Design in recognition of architect and founding figure of inclusive and accessible design, Selwyn Goldsmith went to the Priory Church in Wales Primary School in Powys by Petersen Williams. The Civic Trust Awards partnered with the Centre for Accessible Environments (CAE) to deliver this new Awards scheme and the winning recipient of this Award was selected by a specially convened panel of inclusive design experts including Selwyn’s wife Becky, who presented the Award to the winning scheme.
Award winners (27 projects)
Awards: Given to projects that make an outstanding contribution to the quality and appearance of the environment. Award level schemes must demonstrate excellence in architecture or design, sustainability, inclusive design and make a positive social, cultural, environmental or economic benefit to the local community.

• Arc and The Apex, Bury St Edmunds by Hopkins Architects Partnership LLP
Brockholes Visitor Centre, Preston, Lancashire by Adam Khan Architects
H10 London Waterloo, Southwark by Maccreanor Lavington
Hackney Marshes Centre, Hackney by Stanton Williams
Harpa Concert Hall, Reykjavik Iceland by Henning Larsen
Hospice Djursland, Denmark by C. F. Moller Architects
Kendrew Quadrangle, Oxford by MJP Architects
Las Arenas, Barcelona, Spain by Rogers Stirk Harbour + Partners
Lyric Theatre Belfast, Belfast, Northern Ireland by O'Donnell + Tuomey Architects
Michael Faraday Community School, Southwark by Archial
National Museum of Scotland, Edinburgh, Scotland by Gareth Hoskins Architects Limited
Prince's Gardens: Imperial College, London Halls of Residence, Kensington & Chelsea by Kohn Pedersen Fox Associates (International) PA
Pudding Mill Lane Pumping Station, Newham by John Lyall Architects
Royal Conservatory TELUS Centre for Performance and Learning, Toronto, Canada by Marianne McKenna
Royal Welsh College of Music & Drama, Cardiff, Wales by BFLS
Sainsbury Laboratory, Cambridge, Cambridge by Stanton Williams
Stanislavsky Factory, Moscow, Russia by John McAslan + Partners
The Granary, Barking & Dagenham by Pollard Thomas Edwards architects
The Hepworth Wakefield, Wakefield, Yorkshire by David Chipperfield Architects
The Holburne Museum of Art, Bath by Eric Parry Architects
The Iron Market, Port-au-Prince, Haiti by John McAslan + Partners
The Longest Bench, Littlehampton, Arun by Studio Weave
The Royal Shakespeare and Swan Theatres Transformation, Stratford-on-Avon by Bennetts Associates Architects
The Scotsman Steps, Edinburgh, Scotland by  Haworth Tompkins
University of Wales, Newport, Newport, Wales by BDP
University of Winchester's Performing Arts Faculty Studios, Winchester by Design Engine Architects Ltd.
Wexford County Council Headquarters, Co.Wexford, Republic of Ireland by Robin Lee Architecture in association with Arthur Gibney & Partners

Commendation winners (18 projects)
Commendations: Given to projects that make a significant contribution to the quality and appearance of the built environment. Commendation level schemes demonstrate a good standard of architecture or design, sustainability, inclusive design and provide a positive social, cultural, environmental or economic benefit to the local community.

• Chelsea Academy, Kensington & Chelsea by Feilden Clegg Bradley Studios
Corby Cube, Corby, Northamptonshire by Hawkins\Brown
Crown Woods College, Greenwich by Nicholas Hare Architects LLP
Forest Park Special School, Southampton by Hampshire County Council Property Services
Gosport Railway Station, Hampshire by Re-Format
Maggie's Centre, Cheltenham by MJP Architects
New Horizon Youth Centre, Camden by Adam Khan Architects
Plaza Super Cinema, Stockport, Cheshire by Brock Carmichael Architects
Sammy Ofer Wing, Greenwich by C. F. Moller Architects
Saxton, Leeds, Yorkshire by Union North
South London Gallery, Southwark by 6a Architects
Splash Point, Worthing by craft:pegg
The Triangle, Swindon by Glenn Howells Architects
Turner Contemporary, Margate, Kent by David Chipperfield Architects
UNISON HQ, Camden by Squire and Partners
Warrior Square Gardens, Southend-on-Sea by Gillespies
Watts Gallery, Guildford by ZMMA
Zero Carbon House, Birmingham by John Christophers

Community recognition winners
(7 projects)
Community Recognitions: Given to projects that provide a positive social, cultural, environmental or economic benefit to the local community.

• Cockermouth Shopfront Heritage Grant Scheme, Allerdale, Cumbria by Red Raven Design, Green Design Group & Day Cummings
Crewe YMCA, Crewe by Terence O'Rourke Ltd.
Horsley Church 3 in 1, Gloucestershire by Millar+Howard Workshop
Klong Toey Community Lantern, Bangkok, Thailand by TYIN tegnestue Architect
Priory Church in Wales Primary School, Powys, Wales, Petersen Williams
Wem Town Hall, Shropshire by Baart Harries Newall
Westfield Folk House, Mansfield, Nottinghamshire by Lewis & Hickey Architects

Posted by: Turner Contemporary on Mon 5 Mar 2012
Filed under: Awards