Translations are powered by Google Translate.

  • © Richard Bryant/

The Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA) announced the winners of the 2012 RIBA Awards last night at ceremonies across the UK. RIBA Awards for architectural excellence were presented to 50 buildings in the UK and 9 buildings elsewhere in the EU. The shortlist for the RIBA Stirling Prize for the building of the year will be drawn from the 59 RIBA Award winners.

Turner Contemporary has been awarded RIBA Regional Building of the Year Award.  Commissioned by Kent County Council and designed by David Chipperfield Architects; it is just one of two buildings in the South East to be honoured. Turner Contemporary is located on the seafront at Margate and since it opened last year has welcomed more than 500,000 visitors.

Victoria Pomery, Director Turner Contemporary, said: ‘This award signifies a huge vote of confidence in our wonderful new gallery building.  Turner Contemporary is an inspirational building and our audiences love it.  The gallery functions incredibly well for art and for audiences.  We are thrilled with this announcement which also demonstrates the ambition of Kent County Council in appointing David Chipperfield Architects to design the gallery.’

Speaking today, RIBA President Angela Brady said:

'For nearly fifty years the RIBA Awards have reflected the changing state of British architecture and revealed emerging design trends. What really stands out is that even in times of austerity, we can still deliver amazingly clever, high quality buildings that reflect the needs of today and enhance our daily lives. The judges were delighted to see so many well considered, crafted and innovative projects, and the use of beautiful materials; these projects are truly exciting and inspiring. The huge range of great buildings will guarantee an exciting RIBA Stirling Prize shortlist later in the year and illustrates the value of quality in architecture.'


McLaren Production Centre, Surrey - Foster + Partners

Turner Contemporary, Kent - David Chipperfield Architects

The RIBA Stirling Prize is awarded to the architects of the building that has made the greatest contribution to British architecture in the past year. The prize will be presented on Saturday 13 October.

Posted by: Turner Contemporary on Thu 21 Jun 2012