Translations are powered by Google Translate.

  • The Sketch of the Score for Sonorama
Sat 20 Jun - Sun 1 Nov 2015

What if a particular train route was imagined as a musical score?

Sonorama is a new audio work for the train journey between London St Pancras and Margate. It offers sounds and voices for the otherwise silent view from the train, including new compositions, spoken word and archival sounds relating to different points and histories of the line. Sonorama can be experienced on this train route via a downloadable App.

The Sketch of the Score for Sonorama shown at Turner Contemporary is the graphical transcription of this journey, and the starting point that underpinned the thinking behind Sonorama. This sketch offers an insight into the compositional process and includes scores of the compositions from Sonorama.

Sonorama is free to download at the App store from 19 June to 1 November 2015. It accompanies the journey on Southeastern Highspeed trains via Ashford International.

The book Sonorama: Listening to the view from the train published by Uniformbooks accompanies the audio experience.

Sonorama is curated and produced by Electra in partnership with Turner Contemporary, the British Library and historian David Hendy.

With funding and support from Arts Council England, Southeastern, Kent County Council Arts Investment Fund, Hornby, University of Kent.

Download Sonorama free from:
Download it on other devices with 3G reception at: