Translations are powered by Google Translate.

  • Turner Contemporary staff

    Turner Contemporary staff

    Photo Manu Palomeque
  • Turner Contemporary staff

    Turner Contemporary staff

    Photo Manu Palomeque
  • Director Victoria Pomery OBE

    Director Victoria Pomery OBE

    Photo Isle of Thanet Gazette
  • Turner Contemporary staff

    Turner Contemporary staff

    Photo Manu Palomeque
  • Turner Contemporary staff

    Turner Contemporary staff

    Photo Manu Palomeque

About > Trustees and staff

Turner Contemporary's Board of Trustees governs all aspects of the organisation.

Victoria Pomery OBE is Director of Turner Contemporary. 


Clive Stevens (Chair)
Executive Chairman of Kreston Reeves Chartered Accountants
Clive qualified as a Chartered Accountant in 1980 and in 1989 became a partner in his firm, which is the largest accountancy practice in Kent. He was promoted to Managing Partner of the firm in 1995 and became Executive Chairman in 2014. He sits as a Board member of Kreston International, a worldwide network of independent accounting and business advisory firms.
Clive is also a board director at Locate in Kent, the county’s inward investment organisation and a member of the Council of the Institute of Chartered Accountants in England & Wales.
Tamsin Dillon
Tamsin Dillon is a curator. Her current roles include: Associate Curator for 1418NOW, the UK-wide cultural programme marking 100 years since WW1; and Curator for the London Kings Cross Partnership to commission new works for a range of sites across the Kings Cross area. In 2014, Tamsin was Interim Head of Exhibitions at Tate Liverpool; and she also worked for 1418NOW to commission a series of new works across the UK under the umbrella title LIGHTS OUT, marking 100 years since the moment Britain joined WW1 on August 4 1914.

Tamsin is the former Head of Art on the Underground, the art programme for London Underground. Whilst at Art on the Underground, developing its significant reputation for the opportunities it provides for artists to make new work and for millions of Tube travellers to encounter art. Tamsin is a London Regional Arts Council member, and also is on the Fourth Plinth Commissioning Group.

Sarah Hohler
Member for Malling North, Kent County Council
Sarah Hohler is the sole Cabinet Member for Children, Families and Education at Kent County Council. She is a member of the Arts Council South East, the Royal Horticultural Society, the Conservative Party and the Turner Art Development Trust. 

Piers Sanders
Digital strategist, Lloyds Banking Group
Piers Sanders is a Director for the commercial company Turner Contemporary Enterprises Ltd. Piers Sanders is a digital strategist who leads a team at Lloyds Banking Group looking at how the digital revolution will shape financial services for customers. His background is in consulting on major business transformation, prior to which he served in the British Army. 
He holds an MBA from Cambridge Judge Business School focused on management within the arts and culture sector and has a key interest in helping the sector grow and continue to be sustainable.

Sara Woodward
Sara is the Associate Principal at East Kent College. Sara has a successful track record in leadership and management roles in local government, schools/colleges and the voluntary sector. This has involved her working at central government and county executive level, with politicians/members, senior officers, Head teachers, agencies, businesses and employers in a policy and multi-agency capacity.

Evelyn Stern
Born in Buenos Aires, Argentina, Evelyn grew up there and in Bogotá, Colombia, before finishing her Abitur in Germany. With a scholarship from the Studienstiftung des Deutschen Volkes, she completed her Bachelor of Arts, Hons, Summa Cum Laude at New York University in Comparative Literature. She was later granted a Master of Arts from Cologne University and a Ph.D. from King's College London.

She was DAAD lecturer for German language and literature at the University of Florence. From 1984 to 1996 she was a director of the publishing house Franco Maria Ricci Editore and executive editor of its international arts magazine, FMR. Evelyn now works with David Chipperfield Architects and is a director of David Chipperfield Studio.

Neil Webster
Sales Director, The KM Group
Neil is Sales Director of The KM Group, an independent, family-owned media company serving the people and local communities of Kent and Medway.

Jonathan Wilmot
Chief Global Strategist, Investment Banking, Credit Suisse
Jonathan Wilmot is a Managing Director of Credit Suisse, based in London. He joined the firm in 1985 and is currently Head of Macro Investments in the Systematic Allocation Strategies group within Asset Management.

He holds a degree in Philosophy, Politics and Economics from Oxford University.

Laura Wright
CEO of Tate Enterprises
Laura Wright has been CEO of Tate Enterprises, the revenue generating company of the Tate galleries, for the last 6 years. Her remit covers publishing, retailing, product development, licensing, picture library and filming, and generates around £18m per annum with all profits being returned to Tate. 

Prior to Tate, Laura worked on the commercial side of other arts organisations in London, including the National Portrait Gallery and the Institute of Contemporary Arts. She holds a degree in Film and Literature from Warwick University.

Kemet Hawthorne Pink

Kemet is a civil servant living and working in London with a keen interest in sports, public policy, the creative industries and Margate. He moved to Margate when he was six, returning to London for work thirteen years later. He has always considered Thanet home and still has strong links to the area.



Director Victoria Pomery OBE

Administrative Co-ordinator
Medina Ward (on maternity leave)

Head of Exhibitions
Sarah Martin

Programme Curator Fiona Parry 

Research Curator Trish Scott

Gallery, Technical and Security Manager Andrew Shedden

Programme Co-ordinator Clare Warren

Marketing Manager
Moya Stirrup

Marketing and Press Assistant Katie Hogben

Development Manager Danielle Sharma

Development and Venue Hire Assistant
Hannah Shotton 

Head of Learning and Visitor Experience
Karen Eslea

Learning Officer
 Molly Molloy  

Schools Officer Jennifer Scott

Nova Auty / Lizzie Gove / Bob Henderson / Joan Hobson / Lucy Pettet / Mandy Quy-Verlander / Jan Wheatley

Operations Manager Amit Burrows

Visitor Experience Managers
 Ros Fraser / Lizzie Gove / Rosalind Russell / Clarissa Beveridge

Visitor Services Assistants 
Emma Carter / Karen Richards / Helen Smallwood / Polly Benfold

Gallery Assistants
Raliat Adigun / Steven Alan / Nova Auty / Gina Bailey-Stocken / Darren Barker / Millie Battersfield / Chantelle Cohen / Lucy Crispin / Madeleine Docherty / Bob Henderson / Ann Hubbard / Deborah Jackson / Penny Jackson / Liz Maginn / Joanna Murray / Aniko Pall / Millie Pearce / Kirsty Peterkin / Mandy Quy-Verlander / Kyle Roberts / Kathy Robertson / Elizabeth Rose / Sue Rumsey / Harley Russell / Emma Sage / Asli Shehi / Adrienne Simons / Liene Steinberga Cesar / Joanne Ursell / Samuel Webb / Sarah Yeo

Estates, Facilties and IT Manager
Scott Miller

Facilities Assistants Andrew Blunt / Martin Charlton / Peter Wood 

Head of Finance Paul Barker

Finance Officer Sian Ruffles

Head of Retail Kate Boys-Layton 

Security Team
Phil Coker / Mark Dick / Lee McEvoy


To see our latest vacancies, please visit our news page.

Unique Learning Opportunities
Support our aim to help people see, think and learn differently.
Give £20


World-class art for all
Help up ensure that everyone has access to great art, for free, always.
Give £50


Transforming Margate
Be a catalyst for regeneration in Margate by helping to sustain our work.
Give £100